Before I even start in on this, please be aware that Lindt Chocolate is NOT gluten-free (thank you to Jill at heythattastesgood for tipping me off about that). Okay, one more time, Lindt Chocolate is not gluten-free, news that came straight from the lips of a kind lady at Lindt customer service. This post is about some interesting aspects of the business side of the company, not about their products.
If you want fun, nutritional information about chocolate, check out this post I did on the health benefits. As always, check directly with the company if you have questions regarding ingredients.
Onward . . .
Lindt Chocolate USA has a sweet way of going green. That famous gold Easter bunny is hopping on the environmental bandwagon. Lindt USA, which is located in Stratham, New Hampshire, is teaming up with the local power plant on a project to convert cocoa bean shells, a by-product of chocolate processing, into green fuel. Very cool.
As Thomas Linemayr, Lindt USA’s CEO said recently, “Not only would it be a quick, local solution for disposing of a by-product, but it would afford us another opportunity to reduce our carbon footprint…”
Lindt USA is also a committed partner with Autism Speaks, an organization bringing awareness, fundraising, science, and advocacy efforts together on behalf of children with autism. Lindt is donating a percentage of sales to this noble cause.
As many of you may know, a gluten-free/casein-free diet often helps in the treatment of autism spectrum disorder, hence my interest in the autism community. According to Autism Speaks, one in every 150 children will be diagnosed with the condition this year alone, making it the fastest growing serious developmental issue in the US.
Big, sweet kudos to Lindt USA for their concern for the environment and their support for autism research — even if their chocolate is off limits to those of us on a GF diet. Sniff, sniff.
I’m on a no-sugar binge right now so I’m going to resist experimenting with these delightful looking truffles pictured above, but here’s the recipe if you want to give it a try. Keep in mind, the chocolate indicated in the recipe is Lindt and contains gluten. Just substitute with a gluten-free version. Let me know how they turn out. Wait, on second thought, not while I’m on my no-sugar jag. Oh well, tell me anyway, I want to know. I can handle it.
Go forth and enjoy life (stinky economy or not).